Corey Somerville
Download the PDF

Corey Somerville

A professional rugby player, footballer or a cyclist which would you choose?

Bachelor of Health Science (Exercise Science) Student
College of Health and Medicine, University of Tasmania

Have you ever grown up wanting to become a professional male or female cyclist, rugby player or footballer? Or have you ever just wondered what it takes? I certainly did, however rather than becoming one I decided to pursue a career that allowed me to work with athletes whilst helping them on their journey to becoming the best in their chosen field. This has lead me on a path to studying Exercise Science at The University of Tasmania.

I’m still starting out on this Journey to becoming an Exercise Scientist and ultimately a Physiotherapist. Within the year and a half that I’ve been studying I’ve been working with AFL Tasmania, the UTAS national women’s rugby sevens team and North Launceston Football Club, where I’ve joined them on trips away to Melbourne, Sydney and throughout Tasmania. I’ve travelled with the Tasmanian Institute of Sport women’s racing team to Adelaide for the 2018 Santos Women’s Tour Down under, assisted Hawthorn Football Club during their matches held in Launceston, volunteered at the Australian Master’s games, within the UTAS physiology clinic assisting those with long term illnesses, and completed exercise tests with local school groups. I’ve already helped over 100 athletes. To me that is so rewarding and is something I can continue to do for years to come.

You may wonder, gosh he looks a bit old to be going to University. Yes, I’m older than most students, however you are never too old to learn. Originally from country Victoria, I moved to Tasmania at the end of 2016 to pick up where I left off, having previously attended university in Melbourne for a year in 2010 before moving to Europe where I was accepted into the European School of Physiotherapy. Whilst in Europe I worked in the Oil and Gas industry until deciding to return to University to follow my passion.

For more information: www.utas.edu.au/health